Well that's it folks, week one is done and dusted and I step on the scales first thing tomorrow morning to see how it has all gone.
Today was absolutely disastrous BUT not were food was concerned. I stuck strictly to my points and even managed to saved a few as well as have just a little serving of my all time favourite ice cream as a reward for the week. Should i be rewarding myself before stepping on the scales?
Anywho, as for my disastrous day I was all set to stick to my list of "things to do to get through the weekend' when all of a sudden my washing machine (which had my gym clothes in it) decided that apparently it was tired and didn't want to play today, my punishment for making it do so was that it completely flooded my laundry, garage and some of the carpet in my study! So i spent the greater portion of today mopping up excess water and trying to soak as much water out of my carpet as possible. One thing I did learn through this ordeal though was that when I stress I crave high sugar foods such as chocolate. Despite my tribulations of today I'm closing the door on it knowing that I've made progress I realised very quickly why I wanted those foods and realised that a piece of chocolate was not going to dry my carpet or fix my washing machine and that my friends is where the temptation ended. Yay for me!
Unfortunately because of my little washing machine escapade I didn't get to do some of the things I wanted to do today like get to the gym for my second cardio session which surprisingly I was pretty bummed out about. After all the cleaning and mopping up was done though I did jump on my WII Fit and do half an hour of boxing. Not quite as good as jog on the treadmill but when life throws you lemons....
I did get my house cleaned though, did i mention that i managed to break my vacuum cleaner today as well?... Technology and I aren't doing so well together today. Fortunately the vacuum cleaner was an easy fix and now the house is sparkling at least until my puppy wakes up and decides to go on a rampage.
All in all its been a pretty good week and most importantly I proved to myself that I can get through the weekend without too much of a struggle. I went to the gym three times this week and have upped my time and intensity on the treadmill on each visit. That probably doesn't sound like a lot but I haven't exercised at all in about the last 3 years so I'm pretty proud of myself. My goal for this coming week will be to get there a minimum of 4 times and keep working toward getting an hour on the treadmill done. So far I'm up to 40 minutes so I'm thinking by Friday next week I'll be there.
I was really surprised to find that food wise this week didn't present all that much of a challenge for me. I'm actually enjoying eating better foods full of flavour and colour. As I mentioned in an earlier post I went out and got the Symply to Good to be True cookbook. I found a recipe in there for Honey Soy Beef..plugged the recipe into the WW recipe builder and it is only worth a grand total of 3 points. Add half a cup of cook rice for 2 points and voila it was an amazingly tasty meal, very filling and for a total of 5 points.. I was thrilled. I could really get into this healthy eating thing with food like that gracing my plate.
I'm not usually the kind of girl that toots her own horn but I just have to say I'm incredibly proud of myself for the week that I have accomplished. No matter what magical number the scales display tomorrow morning, I've had a fabulous week and I feel soooo much better for it. Week 2 look out, I'm coming to get ya!
Before i scoot off to plan my meals for this coming week, I would like to wish everyone the best of luck for the week ahead, may the days be kind and your determination hold strong.
-Skye
Week 1 Wrap Up
Posted by
Skye
Sunday, January 17, 2010

1 comments:
sounds like you are doing wonderfully! Isn't it nice to see that healthy food can actually taste great too! I am using the new WW easy cookbook and just loving it! all the chicken recipes are just yummy!!!
Well done on all the exercise too! 40 mins on the treadmill is great! I get very bored on the treadmill, and i am doing all my exercise outdoors (when it isn't hot like today). But the treadmill is great to reduce injuries, which is something I always seem to have and the weight always makes the injury linger forever!!!
I am sure the scales will be kind to you tomorrow!
Cheers!
Post a Comment