Week 3 Weigh In

So I didn't really get time to write my wrap up last night. Well, actually that is not entirely true, I was glued to the TV watching the tennis but anywho.

As I've already stated a couple of times this week was a little tough for me. It wasn't really a motivation problem. I was still as determined as ever to shift this weight but I was so tired last week that the thought of exercise made me just want to sleep more. I did bust it out on the Wii Fit a few times but I know I did nowhere near the amount of exercise I should have.

With this in mind I approached the scales with trepidation this morning. At most I was expecting a 300 - 500g loss and that was only if I was lucky, so I'm sure you can understand my complete and total amazement when I stepped on and they told me I had lost 1.6kg!!! Seriously, 1.6kg, I weighed myself 3 separate times in different areas of the bathroom just to make sure!

I'm assuming a large part of that is probably the weight loss masked by fluid retention from the week before but still 1.6kg!

I'm over the moon right now, that brings my total weight loss to 3.9kg in 3 weeks.

I have never stuck to anything for this long and right now I'm feeling unstoppable. I know eventually the losses will decrease and that is when the real work begins but for now I'm going to enjoy the ride!

TGIF!!!

What a week it has been!

Work has been insane this week, I feel like I have bearly left the place. I haven't gotten anywhere near as much exercise in this week as I wanted too, that seems to be a recurring theme, I'm definitely going to have to work harder on that next week.

I am however, finally feeling better, YAY!

I'm loving that my motivation has returned and i no longer feel like all I want to do is crawl up into a ball and make the whole world go away.

I have a pretty busy weekend on the cards too but I'm going to aim to take bailey for a walk each day over the weekend. He will love it and I will enjoy the fresh air.

The Dreaded Befores....

It has taken me a while to work up the courage to post these photos because I was ashamed that I let myself get so big but I have realised that I am not the girl in those photos anymore. Sure I've only lost 2.3kg so far but there is lots more to come and I'm looking forward to losing every gram.

So here we go, pictures of the girl I will never be again.

July 09

Nov 09
June 08

Joining the links

I've been really struggling for the last two days. I've stuck to my points despite having a cheeseburger for lunch yesterday (that hurt points wise but I made up for it by having only a zero points salad for dinner). I have discovered that unfortunately during TTOTM I crave foods that are high in sugar, high in fat and in general just aren't that good for you at all! It seems ridiculous that it has taken me 28 years to figure that out but I've never been more acutely aware of what I am putting in my mouth as I have been for the last two weeks.

On top of that I get excessive period pain and bloat badly so I'm feeling pretty crappy at the moment and just can not find the motivation to get up and get to the gym. I know I should, I know the scales will be more kind and I will feel better for having done my exercise for the day but how do you get up and put one foot in front of the other when you are struggling to even get out of bed?

I think I'm going to just lay low today, stick to my points and try to do some work on the Wii Fit later this evening when my body finally gets moving. It isn't ideal and it may come back to bite me but until I can find a better way of dealing with this time of the month, it's all I've got.

Week 2 Weigh In

Another 900grams knocked off this week and i'm thrilled!

I honestly wasn't expecting that kind of a loss this week due to currently feeling bloated and just yuk in general so I almost jumped for joy when i saw the scales this morning!

WOOO HOO!!!

Week 2 Wrap Up

Well so we come to the end of another week.

The week itself has been pretty good but I've achieved nowhere near the volume of exercise I was hoping for. Unfortunately preparations for mum's b'day took more time than I had anticipated. So my goal for next week is definitely going to be focusing on upping my exercise, I simply have to make the time for it!

Food wise with the exception of my Chinese food stumble it has been a pretty good week, I've stayed within points every day except for the aforementioned and I was feeling pretty good until the dreaded monthly visitor arrived this morning. Now I'm feeling bloated and sluggish so I have absolutely no idea what is going to present on the scales tomorrow morning.

Either way I'm not going to obsess over it, this is one week of many and my goal each week is to make the new better then the last so onward and upward.

I stumbled but picked myself right back up

Last night was my mum's birthday so being the dutiful daughter I felt it was important to spoil her rotten and give her everything I could. I asked her what she wanted for dinner and she told me she would love some fried rice.

Now maybe I had deluded myself into thinking the Chinese food couldn't be that bad for you right? It's all meat and veggies. Anywho, I indulged her and went and got some fried rice and chicken chow mein for dinner. I only had a very small serving of rice and two tablespoons of the chow mein but holy mother of god when I went looking for the points values of Chinese food I nearly fell of my damn chair!

So yesterday was a bit of points blow out, my first one in 12 days, and I was feeling pretty crappy about it this morning. However after doing a little more rationalising today though I remembered the very wise words that so many of the beautiful people on the WW forum utter: WEIGHT WATCHERS IS NOT A DIET!!

I will fall down sometimes, sometimes I simply won't pass up that piece of cake or that serving of Chinese food and you know what, that is ok! As long as I have more good days then I have bad and I'm prepared to make up for the points blow up throughout the rest of the week then I'm still on my way to a better, healthier me and that really is the ultimate goal.

I do have a small confession to make though - that Chinese food really didn't taste as good as i remembered, it was very greasy and really not that satisfying - I need to remember that the next time temptation strikes.

So this week I'm aiming to lose 1kg, I'm hoping my little blow out last night won't rattle things too much but I guess I'm just going to have to wait and see.

100 Reasons to Lose 100 Pounds

So Mrswhitehead posted this on the WW forums this morning and I found it so inspiring that i'm going to post a copy here too for those days when I need a motivational kick up the bum!

100 Reasons to Lose 100 Pounds

1. To feel good about ourselves.

2. To have GREAT sex! :)

3. So we won't think people are laughing or talking about us.

4. To buy clothes in a normal store and actually get clothes with some style to them that fit
correctly.

5. To have more energy!

6. To be able to tie your shoes/paint toenails.

7. To be able to sit on a floor and get up gracefully.

8. To wear a bathing suit.

9. To cross your legs or sit Indian style.

10. To fit into an airline/theatre/bus/whatever seat without spilling over and without having to
see "that look" from the person who has to sit beside you.

11. So our ankles won't swell.

12. To fit into a booth at any restaurant.

13. To not need an extension to a seat belt on an airplane and to have the tray table not balance
on our bellies.

14. To not worry about being decapitated in our cars with our seat belts on if we should be in an
accident.

15. To not turn beet red after moderate exertion.

16. To be able to pick something up off the floor.

17. Panty Hose that fit!

18. To go to an amusement park and ride the rides.

19. To be able to sit in any chair without worry of breakage.

20. To not have to apologize when caught in a narrow aisle and have someone need to get by.

21. To go dancing, sky diving, bungee jumping....

22. To be able to go horseback riding or ride a bike.

23. To not worry about rashes and sweating.

24. To not have to listen to "caring" people ask why you don't diet or worse still... "gee you have
such a pretty face".

25. To not worry about spilling food, sauces or gravy down the front of your blouse/dress/shirt when eating.

26. To not have to think up some excuse for not doing something because you know your weight will impede you.

27. To not have your belly hit the steering wheel and to be able to fit comfortably in the driver's seat.

28. To have a bra fit comfortably and to be able to buy underwear at Victoria’s Secret rather than at "Tubby the Underwear Guy".

29. To not have to worry about the weight limit of step stools, ladders, motorcycle, exercise equipment, etc.

30. To not get stuck in a turn style.

31. To not wake up feeling achy in the back. or to have ache free legs and feet.

32. So the bathroom scale won't creak and groan when you step on it.

33. To be able to leave the tablecloth on the table at a restaurant instead of dragging it with you
when you get up.

34. So you won't look the other way when you see yourself in a monitor where they have security cameras.

35. To never be embarrassed about your size.

36. To not count tying shoes as daily exercise.

37. To not have to wait for the handicap stall when there are plenty of other stalls available.

38. To not be more out of shape than seniors.

39. To not break toilet seat when leaning to one side.

40. To be able to put on wedding rings again.

41. To try to make a double chin and fail!

42. Buy clothing bargains to fit the next year ... and they do!

43. Not to have to worry about plastic zippers or having your pants bust open.

44. Normal waistbands rather than elastic!

45. To wear knee socks correctly instead of worn like slouches!

46. To look good in a tee shirt!

47. To try on slacks or jeans and have the pant leg actually fit over leg!

48. To be able to get close to sink and not come away with a wet belly!

49. To get out of a stuffed chair GRACEFULLY and not look down to see if the chair has come up
with you!

50. To not worry if the hairdresser's smock will fit!

51. To not be self-conscious about eating in front of others!

52. To not be afraid to ask which hairstyle suits your face.

53. To not have people checking you out after looking in your grocery cart.

54. To not feel (and look) like a sausage in stirrup pants.

55. To have your friends NOT be embarrassed to be seen with you.

56. To get promotions/hired or close that sale.

57. Pants that stay up because your waist is smaller than your butt!

58. No more boobs! (this is for the guys!)

59. Wearing shorts or tank tops without fear of arrest or grossing out others!

60. To not have the fear of being rejected.

61. To successfully flirt!

62. To not worry about how to get in and out of the back seat in a two door car!

63. One size fits all and it fits you!

64. To have a lap.

65. To not have the car you are ride in slant in your direction.

66. To be able to use toilet paper as it was meant to be used and not to have to invent ways to
"get the job done".

67. To not have to watch TV news reports on fat people in hopes that you haven't been caught on camera!

68. To be able to get between cars in a parking lot without wiping the dust off with your belly
and your butt.

69. No more heat rashes and chafing in the upper thighs.

70. So that the cloth in the thigh area doesn't wear away long before the rest of the slacks do!

71. To meet a friend online and not be horrified to have to send a picture of yourself.

72. To not take fat references and fat jokes personally.

73. To know you can go anywhere because wherever you sit you CAN be comfortable and look at
ease.

74. To shop at the mall and not have your back ache from lugging your huge butt and stomach
around!

75. To be able to stand still, carrying nothing and still look poised.

76. To be able to cross your arms across your chest without them resting on your stomach!

77. To have your feet get smaller.

78. Using your mouth to taste and chew food rather than as just a route to get the food from your lips to your stomach.

79. Blood pressure returns to normal.

80. To avoid other health complications from being overweight.

81. To be able to borrow a co-worker's jacket for an important meeting.

82. To meet someone for the first time and their eyes don't pop out of their head with
amazement...because they never knew you're fat!

83. To see your reflection in a mirror or store window without turning away!

84. To wear a watch with a regular length watch band.

85. To look in the mirror when getting your hair cut without thinking you have the biggest face
in the world.

86. To not mind getting your picture taken.

87. To not avoid going to the doctor because you have to get "weighed" in.

88. To wake up each morning feeling energized and ready to go.

89. To not even worry about squeezing into small spaces.

90. To not have to enter an elevator and check the weight limit.

91. To look in your closet and have problems deciding which stylish outfit to work since you have
so many that look good and fit well.

92. To not have to lie perfectly still in bed at night for fear of breaking the bed!

93. To buy tie shoes instead of slip ons!

94. To be able to walk any distance without looking for a bench to sit on.

95. To look forward to shopping and just trying on clothes!

96. To be able to drive by any fast food place without salivating!

97. To be able to shop at the same store for food instead of having to remember where you
shopped last night for the junk food so you can avoid that store for a few days!

98. To not feel lower than low when an innocent child remarks about your size!

99. To not constantly be thinking of where your next morsel of food is coming from.

100. And the 100th reason to lose 100 pounds.....

I'M WORTH IT!

Getting Closer

A short and sweet post to start the morning before I scoot off to do that thing called work!

Went to the gym yesterday and i'm feeling so much better for it. I can really see how your body and mindframe can come to rely on sweating out the frustrations of the day. Managed 50mins on the treadmill yesterday before my ankles started to get a little sore. I really want to push myself to hit that 60 minute mark but am a little afraid that if I push to hard i'll end up injuring myself and losing all motivation. So for now easy as she goes, I figure as along as i'm getting my heart rate up and am having to push a little to reach a new goal each day then i'm doing okay.

I've been looking at some of the classes the gym offers too. They do all the Les Mills stuff and i'm really liking the sound of Body Combat. I think I need to get my fitness level up a little bit more before I attempt one of those but i'm looking forward to giving it a go in the next few weeks.

Hope everyone is having a great week so far.

Week 1 Weigh In

WOOO HOOO 1.4kg down, never to be seen again.

I know it's not quite as much as a lot of people achieve in their first week but I'm thrilled with it either way. I figure after years of stupid yo yo diets I've probably got some re bonding to do with my metabolism before it forgives me fully. Anyway onwards and upwards to week two!

ps. I made the Chicken and Bacon Fettuccine from the new WW Easy Cookbook tonight. Does anyone else find it absolutely bizarre that some of this foods tastes better than all the fat laden 'yummy' foods they used to eat? It's really spinning me out tonight for some reason, the fettuccine was absolutely divine, so good in fact I feel like I've cheated even though I haven't. I worked the 7 points in for dinner nicely and still managed to save 1.5 for the day! Maybe I feel guilty for eating it given that I didn't get to the gym today as I had intended. Oh well, I'm within points nicely so it's probably just all in my head. This is why I really shouldn't post when I'm exhausted (Monday's always kick my butt).

Goodnight cyber world.

Week 1 Wrap Up

Well that's it folks, week one is done and dusted and I step on the scales first thing tomorrow morning to see how it has all gone.

Today was absolutely disastrous BUT not were food was concerned. I stuck strictly to my points and even managed to saved a few as well as have just a little serving of my all time favourite ice cream as a reward for the week. Should i be rewarding myself before stepping on the scales?

Anywho, as for my disastrous day I was all set to stick to my list of "things to do to get through the weekend' when all of a sudden my washing machine (which had my gym clothes in it) decided that apparently it was tired and didn't want to play today, my punishment for making it do so was that it completely flooded my laundry, garage and some of the carpet in my study! So i spent the greater portion of today mopping up excess water and trying to soak as much water out of my carpet as possible. One thing I did learn through this ordeal though was that when I stress I crave high sugar foods such as chocolate. Despite my tribulations of today I'm closing the door on it knowing that I've made progress I realised very quickly why I wanted those foods and realised that a piece of chocolate was not going to dry my carpet or fix my washing machine and that my friends is where the temptation ended. Yay for me!

Unfortunately because of my little washing machine escapade I didn't get to do some of the things I wanted to do today like get to the gym for my second cardio session which surprisingly I was pretty bummed out about. After all the cleaning and mopping up was done though I did jump on my WII Fit and do half an hour of boxing. Not quite as good as jog on the treadmill but when life throws you lemons....

I did get my house cleaned though, did i mention that i managed to break my vacuum cleaner today as well?... Technology and I aren't doing so well together today. Fortunately the vacuum cleaner was an easy fix and now the house is sparkling at least until my puppy wakes up and decides to go on a rampage.

All in all its been a pretty good week and most importantly I proved to myself that I can get through the weekend without too much of a struggle. I went to the gym three times this week and have upped my time and intensity on the treadmill on each visit. That probably doesn't sound like a lot but I haven't exercised at all in about the last 3 years so I'm pretty proud of myself. My goal for this coming week will be to get there a minimum of 4 times and keep working toward getting an hour on the treadmill done. So far I'm up to 40 minutes so I'm thinking by Friday next week I'll be there.

I was really surprised to find that food wise this week didn't present all that much of a challenge for me. I'm actually enjoying eating better foods full of flavour and colour. As I mentioned in an earlier post I went out and got the Symply to Good to be True cookbook. I found a recipe in there for Honey Soy Beef..plugged the recipe into the WW recipe builder and it is only worth a grand total of 3 points. Add half a cup of cook rice for 2 points and voila it was an amazingly tasty meal, very filling and for a total of 5 points.. I was thrilled. I could really get into this healthy eating thing with food like that gracing my plate.

I'm not usually the kind of girl that toots her own horn but I just have to say I'm incredibly proud of myself for the week that I have accomplished. No matter what magical number the scales display tomorrow morning, I've had a fabulous week and I feel soooo much better for it. Week 2 look out, I'm coming to get ya!

Before i scoot off to plan my meals for this coming week, I would like to wish everyone the best of luck for the week ahead, may the days be kind and your determination hold strong.

-Skye

The Power of Positivity

Day 6 and I'm feeling great!

It seem crazy to say but in just 6 days of eating well and exercising regularly I feel better than I have in years. I actually have some energy! I don't know if I have managed to lose a single kilo as i refuse to weigh myself before WI day but what I do know is this:

1. I'm sleeping better

2. I'm eating better

3. I don't feel lethargic all the time

4. My skin is clearer; and

5. I'm happier than I've been in a while

They seem like amazingly positive things to have only occurred in 6 days but its true. I am more confident and more determined then ever.

In the words of Michael Buble:

"Dragonfly out in the sun you know what I mean, don't you know
Butterflies all havin' fun you know what I mean
Sleep in peace when the day is done, that's what I mean
And this old world is a new world
And a bold world
For me"

Weekend Worry

Previously my weekends would have involved going out with friends either to dinner or the movies. In either scenario my food choices would have been awful (think large buttered popcorn and large frozen coke or any Italian meal dripping in cream and cheese). I would have done a little cleaning up around the house before I got tired and took a nap. The rest of the weekend would have revolved largely around the TV catching up on my shows from throughout the week and eating lots of food I shouldn't be. With this in mind and my first Weight Watchers weekend just around the corner I find myself getting more and more concerned about how I'm going to survive this weekend and stay on track.

So what I need is a plan of a attack, how am i going to keep myself occupied throughout the weekend so I don't slip into bad habits? I've decided that success in any journey is all about taking charge of yourself so I'm going to write a list of things that I'm going to do this weekend with each one being ticked off once I've completed it. Here goes:

1. Take my dog for a walk each day

2. Complete at least 2 forty minute cardio sessions at the gym

3. Clean the house from top to bottom

4. Go to the newsagency and purchase the new WW Cookbook and/or a Simply To Good To Be True Cookbook - Done

5. Plan my menu for next week

6. Go food shopping for required items - Done

7. Precook some meals for next week

8. Update Ipod with some up tempo workout music - Done

With my first weigh in on Monday morning looming I'm determined to eat well and exercise regularly, I really want to see a good result this week and start putting the steps in place to break bad habits.

Wish me luck!

Light Bulb Moment

I, like many people who take this journey, have struggled with my weight since puberty. I went from being the big boned primary school kid, to the overweight high school girl, to the fat university student, to the even fatter employee. With each kilo that crept on another slice of my self esteem went out the window.

Over the years I've tried all sorts of 'diets' from shakes to nutritionists to Jenny Craig. You name it, I've probably tried it. Sure I'd lose a few kilos but it was never enough to satisfy the image of perfection I had in my head and before I knew I hadn't just fallen of the wagon, I'd blown the damn thing up.

You see up until literally 4 days ago, i hadn't had my light bulb moment and as a result my attempts to lose weight previously have been futile. Whilst I hated my size, i liked the the element of protection it afforded me. Sounds insane doesn't it? But I didn't ever have to worry about failure because I never tried anything. I have hidden behind my weight for at least the last 15 years if not longer and it has only been very very recently that I have realised that I'm sitting back watching my life go by.

I don't want to be the shy girl in the back corner of the room anymore. I don't want to not do things because I don't feel like I fit in. I want to travel and not worry about how uncomfortable the seats are. I want to go clothes shopping and smile as opposed to cry. I want to LIVE LIFE!

About 6 months ago it finally occurred to me that this fake it til you make it attitude was never going to shift a single kilo from my increasing frame. Bottom line was 6 months ago I wasn't ready, 6 weeks ago, I wasn't ready, hell as little as 6 days ago I wasn't sure I was ready. By trying to force myself to do something I wasn't ready or willing to put the effort into was pure sabotage. I WAS SETTING MYSELF UP TO THE FAIL!!! The one thing I was the most terrified of I was doing to myself..that was a very rude awakening.

As anyone who is overweight can attest you constantly think about doing something about your weight. I've joined weight watchers twice in the last 6 months because I was going to try however my 'I'm going to try' never amounted to anything more than another $100 down the drain and another 5 - 10 minutes wasted on useless thoughts.

So what changed? The short answer is, I did.

In truth it was a process of little things as each thing passed my light bulb flashed.

Firstly, my younger brother who is fit and healthy told me I was beautiful no matter what anyone thought and for the first time in my life I actually believed him. I am beautiful person and I deserve to feel beautiful too! LIGHT BULB MOMENT 1!

Secondly, i got a WII Fit for Christmas. I weighed myself on boxing day with my WII fit and my weight was where I expected it to be at 106kg. A few days later I returned home and decided to play on my WII fit, it told me i had to weigh myself before I could do anything so I reluctantly went ahead and did so only to be greeted with the news that I had put on 1.4kg in about 4 days. I was devastated. After I wiped away the tears and pulled myself together I realised if I don't do something right now I'm going to continue to put weight on. Simple thought process really isn't it? But up until this point it had never occurred to me previously. LIGHT BULB MOMENT 2!

I can't say exactly what changed but the penny finally dropped, I've spent a great deal of my life looking after other people but in doing so I hadn't been looking after me. I got myself up off the couch and went to the pantry, do or die time i thought. Grabbing a garbage bag i threw away every piece of junk food I had in there. As the garbage bag hit the bottom of the rubbish bin the penny finally clicked into place. I promptly returned inside and logged onto weight watchers online (the program I had signed up to two months before but had done nothing with). I came up with ideas for meals and how to stay within my allocated points range. Once that was settled I wrote a list of the food I needed, got in my car and drove to the supermarket.

That was 5 days ago. I officially started my journey on Monday 11th January 2010 and I'm proud to say I finally get it, i finally believe I'm worth it, and most importantly i finally know I CAN DO IT!

I'm up to day 4 and my resolve hasn't faulted once, might not sound like much but four days for me is as good as 4 months for others. I am more determined now than i have ever been before. My thirtieth birthday is in June 2011 and come hell or high water I will be fitter, healthier and more ready than ever to tackle life by then. I'm looking forward to each day and what it's going to throw at me because I've finally gotten past the biggest obstacle in my life...myself.

About Me

My photo
I'm a 28 year old women determined to make my future better than my past. It will take courage and dedication but if life has taught me anything, it is that I am stronger than I have ever given myself credit for.