Biggest Loser Vent

You see this is exactly why I should have continued my boycott and not watched this show.

Tonight I was catching up on a little tv (yay for Foxtel IQ) and watched Monday night's episode of The Biggest Loser. I have to tell you the attitude of some of the contestants and the trainers to losing 0.9g or gain 0.1g was absolutely gobsmacking!!

Yes, yes, I know it's a tv program, ratings matter and realistic weightloss would be nowhere near as interesting to watch BUT there are people in this world who watch this show and take a lot of the advice and attitudes as gospel and to put out there that a 900 gram loss is inadequate is pathetic. The body is a mysterous machine and will do odd things, the contestants had been in NZ for a week and not exercising anywhere near as much and they have started to introduce some weights work into their routines. The fact that not once was it mentioned that muscle weighs more than fat or the fact that a change in routine can often cause your body to riot was morally irresponsible.

I have had a 900gram loss twice and whilst I will fully admit that I always wish it was bigger I know that it is absolutely nothing to sneeze at! I've seen what a kilo of fat looks like, its HUGE! 900grams is almost an entire one of those. The concerning part of it all is if the contestants are not prepared to encounter small weight loss weeks or even the occassional gain they will fail when they get outside and don't have a trainer pushing them everyday.

Like I said, I know it is TV but that doesn't remove social responsibilty! I'm starting to think this show should come with big disclaimers and a DO NOT TRY THIS AT HOME warning!

0 comments:

Post a Comment

About Me

My photo
I'm a 28 year old women determined to make my future better than my past. It will take courage and dedication but if life has taught me anything, it is that I am stronger than I have ever given myself credit for.